Awards and Recognitions

Padma Vibhushan (2014)

The Padma Vibhushan is awarded by the President of India in recognition of distinguished service to the nation. It is the second highest civilian award of India.

Business Week Star of Asia (2005)

This award is given by Business Week USA to eminent Asians who have been path breakers in their fields.

Padma Bhushan (2000)

The Padma Bhushan is India’s third highest civilian honour. It is conferred by the president on individuals who have made valuable contributions to the nation.

Fellow of the Royal Society (FRS) (1998)

The Royal Society of UK is made up of Fellows – eminent scientists, engineers and technologists from the UK and the Commonwealth. Fellows are elected for life through a peer review process on the basis of excellence in science.

TWAS – Lenovo Science Prize (2018)

Receiving TWAS – Lenovo Science Prize in Trieste on 27 November, 2018 the most prestigious award given by the Academy.

AIMA – JRD TATA Corporate Leadership Award (1998)

All India Management Association confers this award to recognise outstanding contributions in management, entrepreneurship and leadership.

Padma Shri (1991)

The Padma Shri is awarded by the President of India to recognise notable contributions to the country. It is the nation’s fourth highest civilian award.

Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize (1982)

The Bhatnagar Prize is awarded to Indians who have made important and outstanding contributions to human knowledge and progress through research in science and technology.

Honorary Doctorates awarded in Science and Engineering

  • Poornima University, Jaipur (2019)
  • Dr. D.Y. Patil University, Mumbai (2018)
  • ITM University, Gwalior (2017)
  • Monash University (2016)
  • Suresh Gyan Vihar University, Jaipur (2016)
  • Bharati Vidyapeeth, Pune (2015)
  • D Y Patil Vidyapeeth, Pune (2015)
  • Swinburne University of Technology, Australia (2015)
  • Mahatma Phule Krishi Vidyapeeth, Rahuri (2015)
  • Solapur University (2015)
  • Amity University, Noida (2011)
  • National Institute of Technology, Agartala (2011)
  • Symbiosis International University (2010)
  • Mahatma Gandhi Kashi Vidyapith, Varanasi (2009)
  • University of Goa (2009)
  • Lucknow University, Lucknow (2007)
  • Deendayal Upadhyay Gorakhpur University, Gorakhpur (2007)
  • Sri Venkateswara University, Tirupati (2006)
  • Visva Bharati, Santiniketan (2006) D.Lit. (Desikottama)
  • Mohanlal Sukhadia University, Udaipur (2006)
  • Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar (2005)
  • Maharishi Dayanand University, Rohtak (2005)
  • Govind Ballabh Pant University of Agriculture & Technology, Pantnagar (2004)
  • Narendra Deva University of Agriculture & Technology, Faizabad (2004)
  • University of Kalyani, Kalyani (WB) (2004)
  • M.S. University of Baroda, Varodara (2003)
  • University of Allahabad, Allahabad (2002)
  • University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, USA (2002)
  • Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi (2002)
  • Tilak Maharashtra Vidyapeeth, Pune (2002)
  • University of London, UK (2001)
  • University of Pretoria, Pretoria, South Africa (2000)
  • Anna University, Chennai (2000)
  • Gauhati University, Assam (2000)
  • Bundelkhand University, Jhansi (2000)
  • University of Delhi, Delhi (1998)
  • Indian School of Mines, Dhanbad (1997)
  • University of Roorkee, Roorkee (1997)
  • Chhatrapati Shahu Ji Maharaj University, Kanpur (1995)
  • University of Salford, Manchester, UK (1993)

Other Awards

Awards for Scientific Research:

  • Asutosh Mookherjee Memorial Award (2005) by Indian Science Congress Association
  • The TWAS medal (2005) by TWAS, the Academy of Sciences for the Developing World
  • Life Time Achievement Award (2004) by Indian Science Congress Association
  • Hari Om Ashram Prerit Senior Scientist Award (2002) by Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmedabad
  • Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Medal  (2001) by Indian National Science Academy, New Delhi
  • Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award (2001) by Indian Science Congress Association, Calcutta
  • Material Scientist of the Year Award (2000), by Materials Research Society of India
  • Goyal Prize (1996) by Goyal Foundation, Kurukshetra
  • GD Birla Award for Scientific Research (1993)

Awards for Technology & Industrial Research:

  • World Federation of Engineering Organisations (WFEO) Medal of Engineering Excellence (2003) by WEFO, Paris
  • H.K. Firodia Award (2000) by H.K. Firodia Foundation, Pune
  • Durga Prasad Khaitan Memorial Gold Medal (1996) by Asiatic Society, Calcutta
  • National Research Development Corporation (NRDC) Republic Day Award (1995)
  • OP Bhasin award (1991) by Bhasin Foundation, Delhi